Sunday 24 Dec

Ajax vs. Willem II Match Preview

24 Dec 2017 Keith M. NETHERLANDS: Eredivisie

Ajax Amsterdam

  • D
  • W
  • W
  • W
  • L


13:30 GMT
24 December 2017

Willem II Tilburg

  • W
  • D
  • D
  • L
  • W

13:30 GMT 24 December 2017

The Ajax vs. Willem II match will be played on Sunday, at the Johan Cruyff Arena, Amsterdam. Ajax is currently 2nd on the table with 38 points, while Willem II is 14th on the table with 16 points at the moment.


  • Ajax was knocked out of the Cup a few days ago, but they are in a series of six matches without a defeat in the league. In their last 12 league games we saw over 2.5 goals.
  • Willem II qualified for the Dutch Cup quarterfinal, but they were defeated in their last Eredivisie match. In their last three matches we saw over 2.5 goals.


In their last ten meetings, Ajax recorded eight wins, Willem II won one match, while one game ended in a draw. In nine out of those ten meetings we saw over 2.5 goals.


After they defeated PSV by 3:0 two weeks ago, everybody in Amsterdam believe that Ajax have the power to win the title, despite trailing five points behind the leaders PSV prior to the Eredivisie round 18. Ajax is in an excellent form, especially their attackers, who scored at least one goal in every match since their 1:0 defeat against Rosenborg in August. The second-placed team on the table will try to close the gap to PSV one more time and Willem II shouldn't pose a threat to them.

Latest matches: Ajax Amsterdam

20.12.2017 KNVB FC Twente Enschede Ajax Amsterdam 7:6 L
17.12.2017 Ered AZ Alkmaar Ajax Amsterdam 1:2 W
14.12.2017 Ered Ajax Amsterdam SBV Excelsior 3:1 W
10.12.2017 Ered Ajax Amsterdam PSV Eindhoven 3:0 W
02.12.2017 Ered FC Twente Enschede Ajax Amsterdam 3:3 D


Willem II will fight against relegation until the end of the season. They are currently in a solid form, with only one defeat in their last seven matches in all competitions, but the game against Ajax in Amsterdam is a whole different ball game. Willem II will be happy to avoid humiliation in the upcoming game.

Latest matches: Willem II Tilburg

19.12.2017 KNVB Willem II Tilburg RKC Waalwijk 3:0 W
16.12.2017 Ered Willem II Tilburg PEC Zwolle 2:3 L
13.12.2017 Ered Vitesse Arnhem Willem II Tilburg 2:2 D
08.12.2017 Ered Willem II Tilburg NAC Breda 1:1 D
02.12.2017 Ered Willem II Tilburg Heracles Almelo 3:1 W


Ajax is a strong favorite to take three points in this match, and we should see many goals scored.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal


By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Reset Password


Finish Registration