Monday 7 Jan

Celta vs. Athletic Bilbao Match Preview

07 Jan 2019 Keith M. SPAIN: LaLiga
SPAIN: LaLiga

Celta de Vigo

  • W
  • L
  • W
  • D
  • L

vs

Kick-off
20:00 GMT
07 January 2019

Athletic Bilbao

  • L
  • W
  • W
  • D
  • D

Kick-off
20:00 GMT 07 January 2019

The Celta vs. Athletic Bilbao match will be played on Monday, January 7, at the Balaidos Stadium, Vigo. After 17 matches in La Liga played, Celta is 14th on the table with 21 points, while Athletic Bilbao is 18th on the table with only 16 points at the moment.

STATS

  • Celta won only three out of their last 16 matches in all competitions. Also, they won only two out of their last seven La Liga matches at home. We saw under 2.5 goals in four out of their last five games.
  • Athletic Bilbao lost only one out of their last eight matches in all competitions. They won four games during the same period. We saw under 2.5 goals in their last three matches.

HEAD TO HEAD

In their previous ten meetings, Celta recorded two wins, Athletic Bilbao had six victories, while two matches ended in a draw. In four out of their last five matches we saw over 2.5 goals.

CELTA NEWS

If they win in the upcoming game, Celta will climb to the position number eight and they would be only two points behind the sixth-placed Betis. Their primary goal for the season was to fight for the place in Europa League. Celta is not in a particularly good form at the moment, but their biggest opponents are not far ahead. Beating Bilbao will also put an end to their dreams of top six finish, so the upcoming match is of great importance for Celta.

Latest matches: Celta de Vigo

22.12.2018 LaLi FC Barcelona Celta de Vigo 2:0 L
14.12.2018 LaLi Celta de Vigo CD Leganes 0:0 D
08.12.2018 LaLi Villarreal CF Celta de Vigo 2:3 W
05.12.2018 Copa Real Sociedad Celta de Vigo 2:0 L
01.12.2018 LaLi Celta de Vigo SD Huesca 2:0 W

ATH. BILBAO NEWS

Athletic Bilbao had a bad start of the season, and they are currently in the relegation zone. As one of the three teams that were never relegated from Spanish top division, it is clear that they are not happy with the current situation. On the other hand, they would be happy with a draw in the upcoming game.

Latest matches: Celta de Vigo

22.12.2018 LaLi FC Barcelona Celta de Vigo 2:0 L
14.12.2018 LaLi Celta de Vigo CD Leganes 0:0 D
08.12.2018 LaLi Villarreal CF Celta de Vigo 2:3 W
05.12.2018 Copa Real Sociedad Celta de Vigo 2:0 L
01.12.2018 LaLi Celta de Vigo SD Huesca 2:0 W

SUMMING UP!

It is hard to predict the winner of the upcoming match. We believe that we will see under 2.5 goals.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us

LOGIN TO TIPSTERPORTAL


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal

Continue

By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

or

Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

RESET PASSWORD

Reset Password

HEY, YOU'RE ALMOST DONE!


Finish Registration