Tuesday 25 Apr

Chelsea vs Southampton Match Preview

24 Apr 2017 Keith M. ENGLAND: Premier League
ENGLAND: Premier League

Chelsea FC

  • L
  • W
  • W
  • L
  • W

vs

Kick-off
18:45 GMT
25 April 2017

Southampton FC

  • L
  • D
  • W
  • W
  • L

Kick-off
18:45 GMT 25 April 2017

The Chelsea vs Southampton match will be played on Tuesday, April 25, at the Stamford Bridge, London. Chelsea is currently 1st on the English Premier League table with 75 points, while Southampton is 9th on the table with 40 points at the moment.

STATS

  • Chelsea lost 2 out of their last 4 games in the league and jeopardized their leading position. On the other hand, last weekend in the FA Cup semifinal they defeated the second placed team on the table, Tottenham, by 4-2.
  • Southampton won only 2 out of their last 5 games in Premier League. Also, we saw over 2.5 goals in 7 out of their last 9 matches in all competitions.

HEAD TO HEAD

In their previous 10 meetings, Chelsea recorded 5 victories, Southampton won 2 games, while 3 matches ended in a draw. In 7 out of those 10 games, we saw over 2.5 goals scored.

CHELSEA NEWS

After Manchester United had defeated them in the previous round, Tottenham narrowed the gap and Chelsea now have only 4 points advantage over their biggest competitor. With 6 games to go, winning the title doesn't look as sure as it did three weeks ago. However, Tottenham has a tough schedule until the end, and it is hard to believe the Spurs will be able to win all remaining games, especially after a defeat in FA Cup semifinal against Chelsea. Of course, Chelsea wants to win every game until the end, and they are absolute favorites against Southampton.

Latest matches: Chelsea FC

22.04.2017 FA C Chelsea FC Tottenham Hotspur 4:2 W
16.04.2017 Prem Manchester United Chelsea FC 2:0 L
08.04.2017 Prem Bournemouth AFC Chelsea FC 1:3 W
05.04.2017 Prem Chelsea FC Manchester City 2:1 W
01.04.2017 Prem Chelsea FC Crystal Palace 1:2 L

SOUTHAMPTON NEWS

With 9 points advantage over Swansea, Southampton avoided fighting against relegation in the finish of the season. They wanted more, even dreamt about top 6, but they weren't up to the challenge. However, they have a financial motive - there is a huge difference between finishing 8th and finishing 15th in Premier League, and Southampton will try at least to stay 9th until the end.

Latest matches: Southampton FC

15.04.2017 Prem Southampton FC Manchester City 0:3 L
08.04.2017 Prem West Bromwich Albion Southampton FC 0:1 W
05.04.2017 Prem Southampton FC Crystal Palace 3:1 W
01.04.2017 Prem Southampton FC Bournemouth AFC 0:0 D
19.03.2017 Prem Tottenham Hotspur Southampton FC 2:1 L

SUMMING UP!

Chelsea simply has to win this game. We saw many goals in their last 10 meetings, and we expect that again. Their current form also points in that direction.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us

LOGIN TO TIPSTERPORTAL


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal

Continue

By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

or

Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

RESET PASSWORD

Reset Password

HEY, YOU'RE ALMOST DONE!


Finish Registration