Tuesday 22 Aug

Nice vs. Napoli Match Preview

21 Aug 2017 Keith M. INTERNATIONAL CLUBS: UEFA Champions League, Qualification
INTERNATIONAL CLUBS: UEFA Champions League, Qualification

OGC Nice

  • D
  • L
  • L
  • L
  • W


18:45 GMT
22 August 2017

SSC Napoli

  • W
  • D
  • W
  • W
  • W

18:45 GMT 22 August 2017

The Nice vs. Napoli match will be played on Tuesday, August 22, at the Allianz Riviera, Nice. This is the second leg of Champions League playoff phase. In the first leg, Napoli celebrated a 2:0 victory at home.


  • Nice recorded three consecutive defeats in all competitions before they defeated Guingamp in Ligue 1 last week by 2:0. In four out of six competitive matches they played from the start of the season we saw under 2.5 goals.
  • Napoli lost only one out of their last 22 games in all competitions. They are currently in a series of three victories, two of those came in competitive matches.


Apart from the match they played against each other a week ago, these teams played a friendly game in 2015. Nice won that match by 3:2.

Head to head matches: OGC Nice - SSC Napoli

16.08.2017 UEFA SSC Napoli OGC Nice 2:0


Nice eliminated Ajax in the third Champions League qualifying round, but they started the season in Ligue 1 with two defeats, so we can't say they are in a great form currently. Their primary goal in Napoli was to score an away goal, but when we look back at the highlights from that match, Nice should be happy they lost only by 2:0. They will have to score at least one goal in the second leg to make the game enjoyable.

Latest matches: OGC Nice

19.08.2017 Ligu OGC Nice EA Guingamp 2:0 W
16.08.2017 UEFA SSC Napoli OGC Nice 2:0 L
11.08.2017 Ligu OGC Nice Troyes AC 1:2 L
05.08.2017 Ligu AS Saint Etienne OGC Nice 1:0 L
02.08.2017 UEFA Ajax Amsterdam OGC Nice 2:2 D


Napoli started their road in Champions League qualifiers from the playoff round, and it seems they will easily qualify for the group phase. In their first Serie A game this season they defeated Hellas in Verona by 3:1 and it seems they will have another successful season. Although they recorded a 2:0 victory in the first leg, they should be careful in the rematch.

Latest matches: SSC Napoli

19.08.2017 Seri Hellas Verona SSC Napoli 1:3 W
16.08.2017 UEFA SSC Napoli OGC Nice 2:0 W
10.08.2017 Club SSC Napoli Espanyol Barcelona 2:0 W
06.08.2017 Club Bournemouth AFC SSC Napoli 2:2 D
02.08.2017 Audi SSC Napoli Bayern Munich 2:0 W


Nice will have to be aggressive and try to score as soon as possible, while Napoli will surely be more defensive minded than in the first leg - a goalless draw works fine for them. We think that we will see under 2.5 goals in the upcoming game.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal


By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Reset Password


Finish Registration