Wednesday 17 Apr

Porto vs. Liverpool Match Preview

17 Apr 2019 Keith M. INTERNATIONAL CLUBS: UEFA Champions League, Knockout stage
INTERNATIONAL CLUBS: UEFA Champions League, Knockout stage

FC Porto

  • W
  • D
  • W
  • L
  • W

vs

Kick-off
19:00 GMT
17 April 2019

Liverpool FC

  • W
  • W
  • W
  • W
  • W

Kick-off
19:00 GMT 17 April 2019

The Porto vs. Liverpool match will be played on Wednesday, April 17, at the Dragao Stadium, Porto. This is the Champions League second quarterfinal leg. In the first match played at Anfield, Liverpool celebrated a 2:0 victory.

STATS

  • Porto was defeated only once in their last eight matches, and that was that defeat in Liverpool. In the last eleven matches they played in all competitions we saw over 2.5 goals eight times, but only one in their last four games.
  • Liverpool recorded seven wins in a row in all competitions. They also scored at least two goals in each of those matches.

HEAD TO HEAD

These teams met seven times in the 21st century. Liverpool recorded four wins, while three matches ended in a draw. In five out of those seven matches we saw under 2.5 goals, but in the rest of the matches we saw five goals!

PORTO NEWS

Qualifying for the best of eight in Champions League is a huge success for Porto. Primeira Liga is probably their priority at the moment, since they are joint leaders with fierce rivals Benfica, with only five matches to go, but Benfica has much better goal difference. Porto didn't play bad in the first match, but it seems that Liverpool is a much stronger team. In the upcoming match, they will have to attack the Reds and save their net from their dangerous counter attacks and it is hard to believe they are capable for doing that.

Latest matches: FC Porto

13.04.2019 Prim Portimonense SC FC Porto 0:3 W
09.04.2019 UEFA Liverpool FC FC Porto 2:0 L
05.04.2019 Prim FC Porto Boavista FC 2:0 W
02.04.2019 Taca Sporting Braga FC Porto 1:1 D
30.03.2019 Prim Sporting Braga FC Porto 2:3 W

LIVERPOOL NEWS

Liverpool defeated Chelsea last weekend and they are still candidates for the title in Premier League. They've done an amazing job in the first leg against Porto, so they will probably be defensive minded in the upcoming game because they want to focus on both Champions League and Premier League until the end of the season.

Latest matches: Liverpool FC

14.04.2019 Prem Liverpool FC Chelsea FC 2:0 W
09.04.2019 UEFA Liverpool FC FC Porto 2:0 W
05.04.2019 Prem Southampton FC Liverpool FC 1:3 W
31.03.2019 Prem Liverpool FC Tottenham Hotspur 2:1 W
17.03.2019 Prem Fulham FC Liverpool FC 1:2 W

 SUMMING UP!

Liverpool is a slight favorite to win the upcoming match. We don't expect to see many goals here.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us

LOGIN TO TIPSTERPORTAL


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal

Continue

By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

or

Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

RESET PASSWORD

Reset Password

HEY, YOU'RE ALMOST DONE!


Finish Registration