Friday 20 Oct

Schalke vs. Mainz Match Preview

19 Oct 2017 Keith M. GERMANY: Bundesliga
GERMANY: Bundesliga

FC Schalke 04

  • W
  • L
  • L
  • D
  • W

vs

Kick-off
18:30 GMT
20 October 2017

1 FSV Mainz 05

  • L
  • W
  • D
  • W
  • W

Kick-off
18:30 GMT 20 October 2017

The Schalke vs. Mainz match will be played on Friday, October 20, at the Veltins Arena, Gelsenkirchen. Schalke is currently 6th on the table with 13 points, while Mainz is 10th on the table with10 points at the moment.

STATS

  • Schalke won only one out of their last four Bundesliga matches, but it was last week against Hertha in Berlin. In their previous three games, we saw exactly two goals.
  • Mainz is undefeated in their last three Bundesliga matches. They beat Hamburg at home by 3:2 last weekend.

HEAD TO HEAD

In their previous ten meetings, Schalke won five games, Mainz recorded three victories, while two matches ended in a draw. However, we haven't seen a draw for six straight head to head matches. Also, in three out of their last four games, we saw over 2.5 goals.

SCHALKE NEWS

Schalke board expects a fight for the place in the Champions League. At the moment, they are only two points behind fourth-placed Hoffenheim. Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, and Leipzig are absolute favorites for the top three positions on the table, and several clubs will fight for the fourth place. The upcoming game is crucial for Schalke - they have to win the most of the matches against weaker teams, especially at home, to compete with their biggest rivals for the fourth place.

Latest matches: FC Schalke 04

14.10.2017 Bund Hertha BSC FC Schalke 04 0:2 W
29.09.2017 Bund FC Schalke 04 Bayer Leverkusen 1:1 D
23.09.2017 Bund 1899 Hoffenheim FC Schalke 04 2:0 L
19.09.2017 Bund FC Schalke 04 Bayern Munich 0:3 L
16.09.2017 Bund Werder Bremen FC Schalke 04 1:2 W

MAINZ NEWS

After a bad start of the season, and only three points from the first five matches in the league, it seems that Mainz found their form. They are now in the safe zone, but they would also love to fight for the place in the top six. It is hard to expect they will be able to finish in front of several wealthier clubs, but we've seen even bigger surprises in Bundesliga during the past few years.

Latest matches: 1 FSV Mainz 05

14.10.2017 Bund 1 FSV Mainz 05 Hamburger SV 3:2 W
05.10.2017 Club 1 FSV Mainz 05 SV Sandhausen 2:1 W
30.09.2017 Bund VfL Wolfsburg 1 FSV Mainz 05 1:1 D
23.09.2017 Bund 1 FSV Mainz 05 Hertha BSC 1:0 W
20.09.2017 Bund 1 FSV Mainz 05 1899 Hoffenheim 2:3 L

SUMMING UP!

Schalke is the favorite in the upcoming game, but Mainz is in an excellent form, and we might see an exciting match, full of goals.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us

LOGIN TO TIPSTERPORTAL


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal

Continue

By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

or

Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

RESET PASSWORD

Reset Password

HEY, YOU'RE ALMOST DONE!


Finish Registration