Friday 19 Jul

Senegal vs. Algeria Match Preview

18 Jul 2019 Keith M. INTERNATIONAL: Africa Cup of Nations, Knockout stage
INTERNATIONAL: Africa Cup of Nations, Knockout stage

Senegal

  • L
  • W
  • W
  • W
  • W

vs

Kick-off
19:00 GMT
19 July 2019

Algeria

  • W
  • W
  • W
  • W
  • W

Kick-off
19:00 GMT 19 July 2019

The Senegal vs. Algeria match will be played on Friday, July 19, at the Cairo International Stadium, Cairo. This is the Africa Cup of Nations final. In the semifinal stage, Senegal defeated Tunisia by 1:0 after extra time, while Algeria defeated Nigeria by 2:1.

STATS

  • Senegal was defeated only once during this tournament, interestingly, against their opponent in the final! Algeria beat them in the group phase by 1:0. They won all other matches after 90 minutes, except for the semifinal clash against Tunisia. We saw under 2.5 goals in all their matches on the tournament, except for the 3:0 win over Senegal.
  • Algeria won all matches on the tournament, except for the win over Ivory Coast in the quarterfinal after penalty shootout. They were more efficient - we saw over 2.5 goals in three out of their six matches in Egypt.

HEAD TO HEAD

It is interesting that these teams played only ten matches against each other so far. Algeria recorded five wins, Senegal had three victories while two matches ended in a draw. Algeria recorded four wins and one draw in their last five matches against Senegal. In three out of their last four meetings we saw under 2.5 goals.

SENEGAL NEWS

Senegal is hunting their first Africa Cup of Nations trophy and they will have to beat the winners from 1990 in order to get it. One of the biggest stars of the tournament, Sadio Mane, missed two penalties during this competition, but he is still the man to watch and somebody who can bring Senegal the glory. He scored three goals so far.

Latest matches: Senegal

14.07.2019 Afri Senegal Tunisia 1:0 W
10.07.2019 Afri Senegal Benin 1:0 W
05.07.2019 Afri Uganda Senegal 0:1 W
01.07.2019 Afri Kenya Senegal 0:3 W
27.06.2019 Afri Senegal Algeria 0:1 L

ALGERIA NEWS

Algeria is the only team that stands unbeaten at the tournament and they will fight for the title. Their best player and goal scorer, Riyad Mahrez, who also scored three goals, will be the key man for them.

Latest matches: Algeria

14.07.2019 Afri Algeria Nigeria 2:1 W
11.07.2019 Afri Ivory Coast Algeria 4:5 W
07.07.2019 Afri Algeria Guinea 3:0 W
01.07.2019 Afri Tanzania Algeria 0:3 W
27.06.2019 Afri Senegal Algeria 0:1 W

SUMMING UP!

It is hard to predict the winner, but Algeria is a slight favorite to win. Also, we expect to see under 2.5 goals.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us

LOGIN TO TIPSTERPORTAL


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal

Continue

By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

or

Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

RESET PASSWORD

Reset Password

HEY, YOU'RE ALMOST DONE!


Finish Registration