Sunday 5 Feb

St Etienne vs Lyon Match Preview

05 Feb 2017 Keith M. FRANCE: Ligue 1
FRANCE: Ligue 1

AS Saint Etienne

  • W
  • D
  • W
  • W
  • L


20:00 GMT
05 February 2017

Olympique Lyon

  • W
  • L
  • W
  • L
  • L

20:00 GMT 05 February 2017

The St Etienne vs Lyon match will be played on Sunday, February 5, at the Geoffroy Guichard stadium, Saint Etienne. After 22 matches in Ligue 1, St Etienne is currently 5th on the table with 33 points, while Lyon is currently 4th on the table with 37 and the game in hand.


  • Both teams were eliminated from Coupe de France last week, after extra time.
  • Before that loss, St Etienne had a series of 5 matches without a defeat in all competitions. In addition, in 3  out of their last 5 games we saw at least 3 goals.
  • Lyon won only one out of their last 4 matches in all competitions. We saw at least 3 goals in their last 5 matches.


In their previous 10 matches Saint Etienne recorded 3 victories, Lyon recorded 5 victories, while 2 matches ended as a draw. In 6 out of those 10 games we saw 2 or 3 goals.


St Etienne is having a much better season than anybody expected. Last year they surprised everybody by qualifying for Europa League and they put on similar performances this season. They are 5th and they qualified for the knockout phase of Europa League. St Etienne will face Manchester United in the next phase of the competition, so they will probably focus on saving their position in Ligue 1. Soderlund and Tannane are injured for the forthcoming match.

Latest matches: AS Saint Etienne

01.02.2017 Coup AJ Auxerre AS Saint Etienne 3:0 L
29.01.2017 Ligu Toulouse FC AS Saint Etienne 0:3 W
22.01.2017 Ligu AS Saint Etienne SCO Angers 2:1 W
13.01.2017 Ligu Lille OSC AS Saint Etienne 1:1 D
08.01.2017 Coup Croix IC AS Saint Etienne 1:4 W


Lyon was in the race for the title, but 2 defeats in their last 5 matches probably ended their ambitions. Even with a victory in the match they have in hand, they would be trailing by 9 points behind Nice and Monaco. They will fight until the end, but if they fail to defeat Saint Etienne, their race will definitely be over. Only Diakhaby is injured for the forthcoming match.

Latest matches: Olympique Lyon

31.01.2017 Coup Olympique Marseille Olympique Lyon 2:1 L
28.01.2017 Ligu Olympique Lyon Lille OSC 1:2 L
22.01.2017 Ligu Olympique Lyon Olympique Marseille 3:1 W
15.01.2017 Ligu SM Caen Olympique Lyon 3:2 L
08.01.2017 Coup Olympique Lyon Montpellier HSC 5:0 W


We expect an interesting match. Both teams have a chance to win, but it won't be surprising if it ends as a draw.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal


By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Reset Password


Finish Registration