Tuesday 18 Jul

Vardar vs. Malmo Match Preview

17 Jul 2017 Keith M. INTERNATIONAL CLUBS: UEFA Champions League, Qualification
INTERNATIONAL CLUBS: UEFA Champions League, Qualification

Vardar Skopje

  • W
  • W
  • D
  • W
  • D


16:00 GMT
18 July 2017

Malmo FF

  • D
  • W
  • W
  • D
  • D

16:00 GMT 18 July 2017

The Vardar vs. Malmo match will be played on Tuesday, July 18, at the Mladost Stadium, Strumica. This is the second leg of UEFA Champions League second qualifying round. In the first leg played in Sweden last week, we saw a 1:1 draw.


  • Vardar played three friendly games during the summer. They lost to Tosno and Mattersburg by 1:0, while they beat Admira by 2:0. The won the title in Macedonian First League with 13 points advantage over second placed Shkendija.
  • Malmo is currently in a series of seven games without a defeat in all competitions. They are currently the leaders of Swedish Allsvenskan with 34 points, six more than the second placed AIK.


These teams played only one game against each other so far. Last week, Vardar snatched a draw in Sweden, the match finished 1:1.

Head to head matches: Vardar Skopje - Malmo FF

12.07.2017 UEFA Malmo FF Vardar Skopje 1:1


Vardar was and still is, an outsider in this clash. They stunned the European football public last week when they returned from Sweden with a fantastic result - 1:1. This draw gives them a realistic opportunity to qualify for the third qualifying round - they will eliminate Malmo even if we see a goalless draw in the second leg! The Macedonian champion will probably try to defend as much as they can, and save their net, which would ultimately bring them the next qualifying round.

Latest matches: Vardar Skopje

12.07.2017 UEFA Malmo FF Vardar Skopje 1:1 D
21.06.2017 Club Admira Wacker Vardar Skopje 0:2 W
31.05.2017 1. M Vardar Skopje FK Sileks Kratovo 0:0 D
28.05.2017 1. M FK Pelister Bitola Vardar Skopje 2:3 W
21.05.2017 1. M Vardar Skopje FK Renova 2:0 W


Malmo started the new season in Sweden successfully, and it seems they won't have many difficulties in defending the throne. However, they disappointed their fans when they failed to defeat Vardar last week, and they will certainly try to fix everything in Macedonia. That won't be easy, but Malmo will attack from the first minute of the match and try to score first. After that, everything is possible.

Latest matches: Malmo FF

15.07.2017 Alls Malmo FF IK Sirius FK 3:3 D
12.07.2017 UEFA Malmo FF Vardar Skopje 1:1 D
08.07.2017 Alls BK Hacken Malmo FF 0:1 W
01.07.2017 Alls Malmo FF Athletic United 3:2 W
27.06.2017 Club Malmo FF NK Lokomotiva Zagreb 1:1 D


Malmo is still a favorite to go through, but they will have to play much better in the upcoming game. We expect to see under 2.5 goals here.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal


By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.


Reset Password


Finish Registration