Friday 7 Apr

Villarreal vs Ath Bilbao Match Preview

06 Apr 2017 Keith M. SPAIN: LaLiga
SPAIN: LaLiga

Villarreal CF

  • W
  • W
  • L
  • L
  • W

vs

Kick-off
18:45 GMT
07 April 2017

Athletic Bilbao

  • W
  • W
  • L
  • W
  • W

Kick-off
18:45 GMT 07 April 2017

The Villareal vs Athletic Bilbao match will be played on Friday, April 5, at the de la Ceramica Stadium, Villareal. Villareal is currently 5th on the table with 51 points, while Athletic Bilbao is 6th on the table with 50 points at the moment. The winner of this match will probably secure their top-six position and qualify for Europa League.

STATS

  • Villareal recorded 2 defeats in a row before their midweek victory over Betis in Seville. They failed to score only once in their last 9 games in all competitions.
  • Athletic Bilbao recorded 4 victories and only one defeat in their last 5 matches in Primera. That loss came against the leader on the table, Real Madrid. In 3 out of those 4 wins, Athletic also recorded a clean sheet.

HEAD TO HEAD

In their previous 10 meetings, Villareal recorded 2 victories, Athletic Bilbao had 5 wins, while 3 games ended in a draw. In 6 out of those 10 games we saw under 2.5 goals, but in other 4 matches, we saw at least 4 goals.

VILLAREAL NEWS

Villareal surprisingly lost two games in Primera, against Las Palmas away and Eibar at home. Therefore, we can say they lost all chances to finish in the top four, and they even jeopardized their top six finish. It seems they stabilized their defense in the match against Betis - they celebrated 1:0 victory in Seville, but they will have to be even better against Athletic Bilbao to record another win.

Latest matches: Villarreal CF

04.04.2017 LaLi Betis Sevilla Villarreal CF 0:1 W
01.04.2017 LaLi Villarreal CF SD Eibar 2:3 L
17.03.2017 LaLi Las Palmas UD Villarreal CF 1:0 L
12.03.2017 LaLi Celta de Vigo Villarreal CF 0:1 W
04.03.2017 LaLi Villarreal CF Espanyol Barcelona 2:0 W

ATHLETIC BILBAO NEWS

Athletic Bilbao is in a fine form currently, with 4 victories in their last 5 Primera clashes. The only match they lost was the one against Real Madrid at home, but even in that game, Athletic Bilbao missed many opportunities to score, to tie the result at least, or even win. They will certainly try to win the upcoming game.

Latest matches: Athletic Bilbao

04.04.2017 LaLi Athletic Bilbao Espanyol Barcelona 2:0 W
01.04.2017 LaLi CA Osasuna Athletic Bilbao 1:2 W
18.03.2017 LaLi Athletic Bilbao Real Madrid 1:2 L
12.03.2017 LaLi Real Sociedad Athletic Bilbao 0:2 W
05.03.2017 LaLi Athletic Bilbao Malaga CF 1:0 W

SUMMING UP!

The match between Villareal and Athletic Bilbao is a derby of the round, and in derby games everything is possible. Villareal is a favorite to win, but we expected to see over 2.5 goals in this game.

About the author - Keith M.

Dedicated tipster with five years of experience. Devoted Arsenal fan and sports writer.

Share your opinion about this preview by leaving a comment below.

Follow us

LOGIN TO TIPSTERPORTAL


Login or

Welcome To TipstersPortal

Continue

By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

or

Join TipstersPortal

Are you a Tipster?

Register Now

By signing up, I agree to TipstersPortal General Terms of Service, Tipster Terms and Privacy Policy.
By joining I agree to receive emails from TipstersPortal.

RESET PASSWORD

Reset Password

HEY, YOU'RE ALMOST DONE!


Finish Registration